Performance Slowdown

I have been using Agenda for a couple of months, adding several notes every day. Now, with probably 100+ notes, switching between projects is quite slow. It can take several seconds to render.

Extrapolating out to what it will be like in a couple more months when I have twice as many notes, I am very nervous about investing more time (and content) into Agenda as my primary productivity tool.

Is there something I can do to improve this? Is there something you can do to improve this?

MacBook Pro (32GB RAM & Plenty of free disk space)
MacOS 10.14.5
Agenda 9.3 (116)

3 Likes

Have you spread your notes across different projects? Projects is one long stream of notes, so if you can have fewer notes in each project, that can certainly help.

Other things that may slow down loading of notes are lots of tags in a note, and attachments in a note. If you have either of those, it may explain why it is taking longer to load the notes to screen.

Thanks for the tips. I have about 15-29 projects, so the notes are moreor less distributed. I have used tags and mentions, but not extensively.

The problem is that I WAs planning to use this tool with likely a years worth of daily notes taking for work and home while adding probably 5-10 new notes each day. If you do the math, there’s no way this will scale.

Given the behavior, I am going to guess that Agenda it dynamically loading messages into memory/view each time. Could these be cached? Doesn’t seem like there would be much memory use as it’s mostly text.

We have plans to rework the foundation indeed of some of the note views later this year, with the goal to make them more efficient.

4 Likes

Just to expand a little on how it works, notes are only loaded as they are brought on screen (or just off screen). So if you have a project with 1000 notes, and you don’t open it, there should be no performance cost at all. You can also archive projects to get them out of the way.