My Workflow with Agenda, DevonThink and OmniFocus

As a Pastor, I need to keep lots of information and I need to stay on top of my tasks. For years, I used evernote as a general dumping ground for thoughts, information and data. It also takes links and photos and has a rudimentary task list. Then it changed CEOs, got business centered, raised their price and got very confusing to use. So I moved to DevonThink. DevonThink is a document manager with a stellar search. I would take notes at meeting in ByWord and save the document to DevonThink. Because DevinThink takes all sorts of documents, it handles HTML and links very nicely and manages photos great. I Would store all my sermons and Bible studies and notes in DevonThink.

All Action items go in OmniFocus. I have a workflow system with OmniFocus that keeps me on top of my prayer list, shopping list, sermon prep, visitation schedule and every other thing I DO as a pastor.

Every year I look at Apple’s design awards and this year there was something called Agenda. I downloaded it and it looks like Apple was right, this thing looks amazing. It still needs Photos and attachments, which they know and are working on. I used Agenda for the first time at a leadership meeting yesterday. Action items are thrown out at meetings like this and so I was able to track who said that would do what, with people tags. I was also able to take action items myself, adding a tag (action) to everything assigned to me. I was able to create a solid bulletted set of minutes for my meeting and it was attached to my calendar for that meeting so I will be able to find those notes.

When I got home, I transferred all my (action) items to OmniFocus, creating projects and tasks.