First Impressions after a few days

(Apologies in advance for such a long post, but it’s only because I’m enthused.)

I’m new to Agenda, tried for an hour or so the other day and pulled trigger on Premium to really understand it. Worth it to me just to try it out and, even if it doesn’t work out for me long term (I really want it to), I’m psyched to see such an innovative “cross-cutting” application.

I love the concept and really want it to be my new one-and-only note-taking workflow across all my devices (regularly use MBP, iPad, iPhone for work). Currently my Mac note-taking is nvAlt backed by Dropbox text files and iOS is 1Writer backed by same Dropbox directory. Super-simple, super-fast, but no support for other media. I am an ardent user of Things for my task management purposes and my early love for Agenda is admittedly biased by my love of Things 3. (Historically: was an original Things user; then OmniFocus 2, now back to Things 3 and don’t see myself changing again anytime soon.)

Feedback/Concerns

Concerns I have right now after several days of heavy-ish use:

1. The biggest problem I’m having now is keyboard navigation and slow/buggy typing and formatting on my Mac. Switching between projects is tedious w/o keyboard shortcuts. Navigating and collapsing/uncollapsing notes is buggy for me and sometimes doesn’t work. Example: Click into the left Project list and navigate up/down with arrow keys into a project. Tab to move focus to list of notes for that project and then keyboard shortcuts for collapse/uncollapse don’t work as expected. The automatic Markdown formatting of bulleted and/or numbered lists often behaves in very unexpected and difficult ways when trying to enter items in the middle of a list.