Contacts, tagging and Agenda as CMS

I’ve been using Agenda as a lightweight CMS for a while. I’ve tried other solutions but none really work for me: I don’t want another application or service to deal with, and my needs for a CMS fluctuate wildly depending on what big projects I’m working on, I don’t have a fixed pipeline, it’s more a question of keeping track of potentially useful conversations.

Now I’ve been doing this for a while (6 months? A year?), it’s a bit messy and I’m wondering how I could develop my work flow.

Essentially my system is:

• when prospecting I create a dated note for each meeting/call with a person, placed in a Project called People.
  • In the note I include the name in the format @FirstLast, and tags like #prospect #journalist along with notes about the meeting, and any follow up actions.
  • when I have follow up meetings, I create a new dated note for each meeting. Each time I include the person tag, though generally not the other tags unless their status changes or I learn more about them that’s relevant.
  • if the conversation develops into a potential piece of work or collaboration, I create a new Project in a Category “prospective projects”. I’ll move relevant meeting notes out of People into this new Project. In due course this may turn into a piece of paid work and the Project moved to the category “active projects”.

At the same time I’ll be having meetings etc with other contacts and collaborators relating to a variety of existing projects. In all cases I use the person tag for every person mentioned in any note. (Subject to remembering complex spelling - tag browser please!)

Also, if I’m at a networking event etc, I create a note for the event and include tags for everyone I’ve spoken with)

This all means I can:

• search on a person tag to see all interactions
  • keep an eye on related notes to see unexpected connections
  • search on #lead etc to look for opportunities to follow up