I’m currently using iCloud to sync my notes, if I switch to Dropbox now will I lose all my notes? Or all my notes will be transferred automatically to my Dropbox?
You should not lose any notes. What will happen is that your devices will upload all the data to Dropbox. This could take a while. When they finish, your sync should work properly again. No data is removed from any device, just uploaded.