There should be a global “Trash” project. All deleted notes should be sent there, and only purging that should fully delete notes.
Right now, the no recovery situation is a bit jarring. It may be how you designed it, but I can see a Trash project pinned to the lower left, and then the rubbished notes sit in there indefinitely (or for a stated length?) and a right click will let you purge all. This is a more conventional approach, and will allow for more data recovery without much hassle.
What do you think?