How I use Agenda for writing/research

I’m new to Agenda. I have to admit I’ve tried it many times of the past few years, and it never stuck enough for me to upgrade to Premium. This time it is hitting a sweet spot with me.

I’m a retired professor of linguistics. I still conduct my research and write articles, book chapters, perhaps a book. I’ve used quite a few notes apps; my latest are Apple Notes, Craft (which I’m abandoning) and Bear. I used to love Bear, and still think it’s a great app, but I just can’t wrap my head around tags only and not folders – my brain thinks in folders for projects.

Things that I am liking about Agenda: the writing environment is feature-rich, and the keyboard shortcuts are extensive (as a writer, I’m a good typist, and I want my hands on the keyboard as much as possible). I use Bookends as my reference manager. It lets me copy a link to an article and paste that into Agenda (for when I am taking notes based on an article), really nice. Because of the research I do, my notes are often chock full of images (JPEG or just figures that I design and save as PDFs). The options for placing images into Agenda notes are also nicely powerful (sometimes I want the full 100% image, sometimes a thumbnail is enough).

One of the things that didn’t click with me at first was the way Agenda is marketed, with a strong emphasis on tying notes to dates. I see the purpose of that, and Agenda is pretty much alone in this space. But I don’t need to tie notes to meetings, etc. – even if I collaborate with colleagues, it’s not structured and I don’t keep notes. So I thought Agenda wasn’t for me. I now realize I (a) either don’t need to use this function, or (b) sometimes I do want to see my notes/ideas for a developing paper in chronological order.