Adding Side-Notes

In short: It would be nice to be able to add side-notes for every paragraph. They could appear on the right of that paragraph.

First of all, I want to explain where this idea comes from:
I am a teacher and as a teacher I often take notes and connect them to calendar events: Mainly specific lessons or meetings.

Oftentimes I make plans for my lessons and with Agenda’s great functionality it makes it very easy to move notes or paragraphs around, so it’s great for me to move around things I could not get to or things I decided to manage at a different date.

When making plans for lessons or for meetings, I do plan in sections, which are always tied to a specific duration. F.e. I want my students to work on a specific task for 15 minutes or I want to talk about a matter for 10 minutes before moving on to something else.

Having side-notes would make it a lot easier for me to see these specific „side-notes“ (such as planned durations of sections or material I need for a specific section or any other annotation) in a glance as opposed to having them in-line.

As for adding side-notes, one idea I had was inputting text between two semicolons like the following:

• Solving task 5.3 in Book of Maths ;5 min;

Another functionality of side-notes would be, that they’re always connected to that paragraph, so if I decided to copy and paste a paragraph the side note would move with it.

Side Notes
  • The side-notes should probably be able to move the next paragraph down on their own, if the side-note is longer than the connected paragraph.
  • The width of paragraphs with side-notes is shortened to make space for side-notes.
  • Side-notes could probably be hidden altogether by pressing a button or hotkey.
  • Optionally, if I added another side-note inside one paragraph, both side-notes would just appear on the side seperated by a comma, a semicolon or in a new line.
  • The side-notes should be editable and removable.