Recording time spent on items within Agenda?

What I’m doing: I am a freelancer in a creative field. I don’t like tracking my time to the minute because it just doesn’t work for me, so I generally just make note of ‘Project A - 0.5 days, Project B - 0.5 days’ at the end of the day, then when it comes to the time to invoice the clients I just cobble it all together. It’s a mess.

What I hope to do: Is there a good way anyone has figured out to keep track of the days I have worked and need to invoice on within Agenda? I’m very eager to keep everything within one app if possible, so if there’s a way I can make time entries correspond to calendar time blocks, for example, or whatever else might work inside Agenda… I don’t know - I’m rambling. Hopefully someone out there knows where I’m coming from.

Main point - very keen to not use a time tracking app, even though eventually my time will need to go into an invoice in Xero and they have integrations etc. I just don’t work well with too many apps to attend to.

I don’t really have much experience with this myself. We don’t have any time tracking built into Agenda.

I guess if you were disciplined, you could make a note for each block of work, and assign it to a calendar event of the right length.

If it were me, I would probably just make a single “Time Tracking” note, put it On-the-Agenda so I can find it very fast, and enter a line for what I did each day. Probably make it a checklist, so I can checkoff when I have invoiced the entries. Something like that.

3 Likes

I work on multiple client projects throughout the day. I keep a single “Plan for (date)” note for each day with the tasks I work on for each project. Then I have a line item for each client / billable line with how long I worked on it (“Client A Development - 2 hours” / “Client A Support - 1 hour” / “Client B - 4 hours” etc).